[U] “Doin’ The Two-Step” — On Mars: Ingenuity Will Make A Second Run At Fourth Flight, In About An Hour…

UPDATED @ 5 PM EDT: The second go was. . . letter perfect; spot on, thus from the NASA blog update: “. . .Ingenuity successfully completed its fourth flight today, and we couldn’t be happier. The helicopter took off at 10:49 a.m. EDT (7:49 a.m. PDT, or 12:33 local Mars time), climbing to an altitude of 16 feet (5 meters) before flying south approximately 436 feet (133 meters) and then back, for an 872-foot (266-meter) round trip. In total, we were in the air for 117 seconds. . . .” End, updated portion.

The same “watchdog” sub-routine — in the copter’s software package (seen before flight number one) kicked in, and prevented Ingenuity from spinning up the RPMs on the rotor, to full flight mode. The issue is non-threatening to the overall health of the chopper. So, NASA will try again for flight number four, in about an hour now.

The software was predicted to invoke this precaution about 15 per cent of the time. After this flight, it would seem likely that NASA will completely re-install the software, with a loosened limit, in that sub-routine. We shall see, and here’s the latest:

. . .The team plans to try its fourth flight again today, April 30, 2021. The flight is scheduled for 10:46 a.m. EDT (7:46 a.m. PDT, 12:30 p.m. local Mars time), with the first data expected back at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Southern California at 1:39 p.m. EDT (10:39 a.m. PDT). . . .

Onward to a clear as a bell Friday here. . . smiling at the overnight hours — of fog blankets. . . .

नमस्ते

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: